Friday, November 16, 2007

Greetings from Hrvatska!

WHERE, you might ask? It's what we call Croatia. Officially known as the Republic of Croatia, it was once a part of the former Yugoslavia after WW2, declared its independence in 1991, and is currently a candidate for membership in the European Union.

Capitol: Zagreb
Official Language: Croatian
Population: 4.43 million

The majority of the population are Croats. National minorities include Serbs, Muslims, Slovenes, Italians, Hungarians, Czechs, Slovaks, and others. The majority of the population is Roman Catholic. In addition there are Orthodox, Muslims, and Christians of other denominations.

Croatia sits on a fault line that lies between Western and Eastern Europe. Because of its location, it has Venetian, Latin, Hapsburg, Hungarian, and Slavic influences. It is home to Roman ruins, cobblestone fishing villages, medieval walled cities, forested national parks with amazing waterfalls, and over 1,185 islands (more than Greece).

View of the azure Adriatic Sea.

Join me as I explore this amazing country.

Adventure On,

No comments: